Xanaduum
Xanaduum Studio
9/4 Seaguy Week! Love Song for She-Beard
2
0:00
-3:28

9/4 Seaguy Week! Love Song for She-Beard

2
0:00
-3:28

Love Song for She-Beard

Music and vocals GM produced and arranged by Jay Ruin. Additional vocals by Jay Ruin.

We end Seaguy Week with an interview with our lovely collaborator Jay.

JAY RUIN INTERVIEW

Q. Tell us a bit about yourself, Jay! And how did you get involved in this project? 

A. I’m a music producer, songwriter and performer from Wolverhampton. I’m probably best known for my Industrial electronic acts “CeDigest” and “Ruinizer”, and have been lucky enough to work with several creative minds I look up to, with Grant being my latest victim. I am also a very mature, grown up man, and never make peepee or poopoo jokes, ever. 

I first made contact with the Morrison clan through playing shows. The lovely Kristan had organised a show with Armalyte Records and Cubanate, with my band Ruinizer provided opening support. We remained in contact after that, and the opportunity arose to work with Grant on Seaguy.

That time came last year, where I was lucky enough to visit the Morrisons and record Grant’s songs from the comic, which had the purpose of further defining the world constructed in the original Vertigo comic line. 

It’s been incredibly fun and has given me a chance to flex my production skills with weird instrumentation and conceptual sound design that brings things together with the overarching themes. I’m currently writing a YouTube video that goes over the process and concept from my perspective a little deeper, so keep an eye out for that! 

Q. If you were in Seaguy’s world what ‘superhero’ would you be? Who would be your familiar? 

A. I would be LORD SONICUM, a Sound-based super, who shoots concussive sonic blasts out of his urethra. I would wear a large cummerbund with a charging mechanism that focused my penis’ raw energy and would then allow me to release the energy from a small opening at the tip end, a bit like how Cyclops’ visor works in the X-Men animated series. My familiar would be a glorious golden lamb, as both a reference to the Golden Fleece (for some reason, I don’t know) and my welsh heritage.

Q. It must be very exciting to be the Eye's new Recomposer following the mysterious disappearance of your predecessor...

A. I am honoured to do the bidding of our Great overseer, Mickey Eye. It is truly a blessing. I’m sure my predecessor’s disappearance was unconnected. 

Q. How is it to 're-again' our favourites like Mickey Eye Theme, 1/2 an animal, Viva El Macho + more for a whole new captive audience? What’s your favourite track? 

A. You me you is my favourite. I find it both endearing and alarming. Upon a first listen, you get a charming song about two best friends, but when listened to in context of the world of Seaguy, it’s a bit sinister. For me, that is what made this project so exciting; finding ways to make sonic subtext. Invoking the feeling that something isn’t quite right without saying it straight up. 

Q. Which Mickey Eye re-watch do you look forward to every time? Why this?

A. Every time I gaze in to that glorious pupil, it teaches me something new. It’s almost as if they reach directly in to my subconscious...

Q. What are you working on now?

A. Little bit of this, little bit of that! I’m always working on new Ruinizer that I’ll probably never release. My current ongoing project is in the early days, but I’m hoping to open a multimedia studio where creatives can create multimedia content for whatever purpose needed. I also have a YouTube channel and a Patreon for those who want to show their support between big releases, where I sometimes upload unreleased music, previews and sample packs! 

https://youtube.com/@jayruin1178

https://rnzr.bandcamp.com

http://patreon.com/jayruin

Do not reproduce without permission or else…this guy.

2 Comments
Xanaduum
Xanaduum Studio
The Project of a Lifetime. A living archive from Grant Morrison. Studio excerpts.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Xanaduum