Xanaduum
Xanaduum Studio
30/3 Seaguy Week! You+Me
10
0:00
-2:40

30/3 Seaguy Week! You+Me

YOU+ME
10

YOU+ME

Music and vocals GM produced and arranged by Jay Ruin

YOU + ME

This is the song Seaguy sings to his best pal and beloved familiar, Chubby Da Choona, as Chubby lies dying in his arms after being stung by the mechanical Wasps of Atlantis in Book 1. It was inspired by memories of the Pinky and Perky theme tune ‘We Belong Together’ (a 1960s string puppet show for very young kids in the UK, featuring two merry piglet pals).

I wanted there to be whistling in this one because I’ve always loved the helpless, hopeless Lovecraftian ‘whipoorwill’ twittering on Gene Austin’s My Blue Heaven. It was Jay’s brilliant idea to have the chanting kid come in before the end.

This was designed to be a deceptively sweet and sugary sub-McCartney heartbreaker – a silly, sentimental, nursery rhyme song with Tin Pan Alley lyrics that somehow opens the door to death and loss and the void. It’s about everyone and everything you hoped you’d never have to miss.

Just you and me like two waves on the sea

Like two cups of tea

We’re happy to be this way

Just me and you like a sock with a shoe

So much better with two

I love you

Don’t go away

And any time you’re feeling blue

Remember that there’s always two to share the strain!

And any time you’ve fallen down, I’m always gonna be around

To pick you up again

Put you on the next available train cause…

One and one always adds up to two

It’s me and you

And you and me

And me and you

We’ll always be

Just you and me like the leaves in the trees, like the stripes on a bee

We belong together

We belong together

Just you and me…

Do not reproduce without permission or else…heartbreak.

10 Comments
Xanaduum
Xanaduum Studio
The Project of a Lifetime. A living archive from Grant Morrison. Studio excerpts.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Xanaduum